Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Shipman-Wills Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Sh7
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1833-1856, between the Shipman family of Rockingham County, Va. and the Wills family of Fluvanna County, Va. There are letters, 1838-1840, between James C. Shipman while serving in the Virginia House of Delegates and his wife Mary Minor Wills Shipman. Many letters are written by women. The collection includes letters of Jane R. Riordan discussing her going to Richmond to learn the millinery trade and starting in business; letters concerning marriage and courtship; letters...
Dates:
1833-1870
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Nathaniel V. Watkins Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 W32 and 2008.306
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1862-1865, written by Nathaniel Venable Watkins to his wife Nancy Daniel Watkins. During the Civil War, Watkins served with Co. H, 4th Virginia Heavy Artillery, which became part of the 34th Virginia Infantry Regiment. Watkins appeared to have saw little combat, spending much of his time in defensive positions guarding artillery batteries. His unit was stationed at Gloucester Point (during the Peninsular Campaign), near Richmond (Chaffin's Bluff) and near Petersburg. His...
Dates:
1846-1889; Majority of material found in 1862-1865
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center